NEHS Scholarships

Annually, NEHS offers scholarships of varying amounts for NEHS graduating seniors planning on enrolling in two-year or four-year colleges/universities. Graduating seniors who hold membership in active chapters may apply for a one-year, non-renewing scholarship. Because these scholarship opportunities are offered exclusively to NEHS members, those members who take the time to submit a carefully crafted application have an increased chance of receiving an award. We also encourage careful planning in order to meet the deadline. A suggested timeline is provided below.

All applicants for NEHS Scholarships are required to read the Common Reader identified below and submit an original essay based on one of the prompts provided by the Advisory Council in November. Additional requirements are outlined on the Award Spring platform.

Supplemental Funding

NEHS also supports students who demonstrate outstanding academic performance in English studies and who have been active participants in National English Honor Society, but who may qualify for an additional award amount due to financial circumstance and/or family circumstance.

Winner(s) of NEHS scholarships who qualify for supplemental funding submit additional documentation to the Advisory Council through the Award Spring platform. A limited amount of funding is set aside to support these members; these funds are added to the amount awarded to successful awardees. These additional stipends are competitive in nature.

Application Process and Deadline

NEHS uses the online AwardSpring platform for the application process. The submission link will be open December 6, 2021 through January 10, 2022, 11:59 p.m. CST.

The Common Reader for the 2021-2022 school year and the text that will be the basis for the required scholarship essay will be The Beekeeper of Aleppo, by Christy Lefteri.

Total funding for NEHS Scholarships for 2021-2022 is budget-dependent, but most awards are typically up to $2,000 each; NEHS anticipates a pool of approximately $30,000 to be available. The William C. Johnson Scholarship, given in honor of Dr. William C. Johnson, Executive Director of Sigma Tau Delta, in recognition of his dedication to the founding of NEHS, is typically worth $1,000 more than the next highest awards; other levels of scholarships will have multiple winners awarded varying amounts based on assessment scores.

NEHS Award Notification

Award notifications will be made on Monday, April 13, 2022. Award recipients will be required to complete additional follow-up information. Funds will be mailed to the student's college/university after August 1, 2022.

Deferment Policy

Awards are sent directly to the colleges/universities for deposit into the winners’ financial accounts. Awards are issued in the fall. NEHS understands that circumstances might arise requiring a delay in starting school. However, due to accounting and budgetary considerations, NEHS will consider deferring a scholarship award for no more than one academic year on a case-by-case basis. Awardees unable to accept their scholarship within one year forfeit their awards.